Homemade Nutter Butter

31 May

nutter butter blog 2

Summer Project #1: Homemade Nutter Butter Cookies

I can’t believe June is already here and summer time has just begun! My current summer internship has me in charge of a new campaign which I’ll post about later but it’s related to The Ellen Show. I’m super excited but slightly nervous too!

Time really does fly too fast and eating these homemade Nutter Butter cookies goes by fast too! However, my attempt to make these sweet Nutter Butters had some downfalls.

My cookies cracked, became to be GIANT Nutter Butters, and made too much filling (currently licking off a spoonful of filling…KIDDING-maybe not).  Despite my downfalls, these tasted great and were easy to make!
This summer project will be cutting into my Yoga/Dance time but my love handles will thank me later. Get ready for more delicious homemade cookie brands!

The recipe is from Cookies and Cups. This is a really cute blog with some sweet-looking recipes!
I cut the recipe in half because I figured I’d have too many cookies chilling in my kitchen & changed the ingredient measurements.

nutter butter blog

Yields about 15 sandwiched cookies

Modifications: Cut ingredient measurements in half, use less sugar 

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup white or brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda and baking powder
  • optional: 1/4 cup  sugar for rolling cookie dough in

Filling

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 3 TBsp milk

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F
  2. In large bowl, mix butter, sugar, peanut butter on medium speed until light and fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla. On low speed, add flour, baking soda, powder. Mix until well combined.
  3. Refrigerate or freeze cookie dough
  4. For the peanut butter filling: In large bowl, beat butter and sugar together until smooth. Slowly add in powdered sugar to mixture and add milk 1 tablespoon at time until smooth.
  5. Form chilled cookie dough into 1 inch balls and form into log shapes. Roll the log in the extra sugar and place on baking sheet about 2 inches apart.
  6. Use a fork to make criss cross marks by pressing down on dough. Pinch the middle of dough to make peanut shape.
  7. Bake for 6-8 minutes until lightly golden. Let cookies cool for few minutes on baking sheet and cool them on wire rack.
  8. Spread some P&B filling onto two cookies and smash smoosh those Nutter Butters together to create a delicious cookie sandwich.

It’s ok if you had more than 2 like I did! Serve and Enjoy!

Comments

