Homemade Mrs. Fields Cookies & 1 Week Gluten-Free Eating

7 Jun

I’ve made a BIG decision today! It’s not getting a tattoo, taking a road-trip (I wish…), changing my major (if life was really that simple…), nor opening up my own bakery business (possibly in the future).

My decision is to eat and be GLUTEN-FREE for 1 week and possibly more! I know it’ll be tough at first but I’m determined to eat healthier, try this new eating style, and make yummy gluten free meals. My inspirational blogger has to be Yammie’s Glutenfreedom blog & her other one, Yammie Noshery. My family did not criticize me or told me I was making a huge mistake which I was afraid they’d say.

Upon my research, gluten is a main staple in most people’s diet-pasta, pizza, bread/breaded food, salad dressing, cake, cookies, cupcakes and lots more! Click gluten for list of gluten containing foods. Half of these foods I live off of but it’ll be worth the pain!  I should remind myself to not starve myself when eating gluten free food…I just have to eat smarter and food-shop smarter too! You can do it, Jen!

Anyways, the 2nd round of Homemade Cookies Brand are Mrs. Fields Chocolate Chip Cookies, recipe adapted from Lauren’s Latest.

mrs fields

1st batch I left it in the oven too long b/c I was a multi-tasking ninja & crazy lunatic that day. Cookies were hard outside but chewy inside. 2nd batch was soft, chewier and not hard. I discovered what oat flour is which this recipe uses and it’s basically blended rolled oats…AWESOME!

mrs fields 2

Top: 1st batch
Bottom: 2nd batch

These cookies are simple and will be milk’s best friend for life! I had some BEFORE I decided to be gluten free, so it was my last taste of goodness and comfort! It’s fun smooshing the cookie dough flat to be large, thin, chewy sweetness! Thank you Mrs.Fields for being an awesome baker! 

Next time I’ll try this recipe- Mrs. Fields Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies by gluten free on a shoestring.

Also, any tips or gluten free recipes you’d like to cook/share? All the help is appreciated! Now I’m just going to drool over the glutinous cookies, cupcakes, and cakes I can’t eat for a week or more!

mrs fields cookie

Yields 8-11 cookies

Modified to 1/2 cup of granulated or light brown sugar, and less chocolate chips

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar or light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions:
1. Pour rolled oats into a blender and blend well until finely grained to make oat flour.
2. Preheat oven to 300 degrees Fahrenheit and line cookie sheet with aluminum or parchment paper.
3. In large bowl, mix butter and sugar until for few minutes. Add and mix in egg and vanilla extract until well blended. Mix in dry ingredients-oat flour, all purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
4. Stir in chocolate chips. Freeze the cookie dough for about 30 minutes.
5. Spoon out frozen dough and flatten it to be 2-3 inches wide on cookie sheet.
6. Bake for 15 minutes or until lightly browned on edges. Let cookies cool for few minutes.
Serve & Enjoy!

TGIF! Taken at the grounds of RU!

TGIF! Taken at the grounds of RU!

Comments

