Lemon Glazed Chocolate Chip Cookies

26 Jul

lemon-frosted-cookies-2

TGIF and good news! I got an A on my first exam of my summer class…this is a rare case in college for me! I’ve received good responses for my first food drive/fundraiser! My family, friends, family friends and etc. have supported my cause donating food and money! 🙂 I’ve been tweeting and posting on Facebook like crazy for my food drive/fundraiser! Social media has become my sidekick for the past few weeks especially Twitter and Facebook. A couple months of ago, I never really thought I’d would be a tweeter but now, I enjoy it. Twitter is real time news at the touch of my fingers. I found out Kate Middleton was giving birth before seeing it on Yahoo or MSNBC and the death of Glee’s Corey Monteith…RIP! It’s so crazy and amazing how social media keeps me on my toes!

If anyone would like to follow me on Twitter, go ahead @peace_jenlee. Social media will never really be a private domain/space. It’s an opportunity to share a piece of who you are. If you are starting to become social media saavy, I’d say start with Facebook, Instagram, or Pinterest which are easier to navigate in my opinion.

lemon-frosted-cookie

Anyways, these Glazed Lemon Chocolate Chip Cookies are dense (due to the sour cream) and soft! Sweet, citrusy goodness! Reward yourself for the weekend with these simple, yummy cookies and kick back in the gorgeous weather for next few days.

Note: You can substitute the sour cream with milk if you want less dense cookies. If you don’t have lemons, use orange juice and orange zest instead. 

Ingredients

  • 1 stick or 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups of flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 salt
  • 1/4  cup lemon juice or up to your discretion
  • 1 tablespoon of lemon zest (grated lemon skin)
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Glaze

  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup of confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of grated lemon zest
  • 1-2 tablespoon lemon juice

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.
2. In a mixing bowl, cream together butter, sugar and sour cream.
3. Beat eggs into creamed mixture and add grated lemon zest.
4. Add flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Mix well and alternate with lemon juice. Stir in chocolate chips.
5. Chill or freeze dough for 1/2 hour.
6. Grease cookie sheet and scoop out 1 inch balls of dough. Place onto the cookie sheet.
7. Bake for 8-10 minutes. Allow cookies to cool before glazing it.
8. In small bowl. mix butter and confectioners’ sugar together. Mix in lemon juice and grated lemon zest until the mixture is smooth and slightly watery. Glaze over the cookies!

Happy Baking!

lemon-frosted-cookies-4

Comments

