Gluten Free Cocoa Cookies & Happy New Year!

30 Dec

2014 is almost here, and I’m so excited to overcome any new challenges & opportunities in this crazy world. I’m more excited to experiment with gluten-free baking during my winter break from college! However, I’m not a big New Year’s resolution fan because I know I can’t stick with the promises I tell myself to do. I hope I’m not the only that feels this way…

cocoa cookie

2013 has definitely been UNBELIEVABLE-mostly good memories and experiences! I’m proud to say I’ve learned more about myself and grown up so much this past year with the following highlights: Visiting Thailand with my Rutgers East Asian House (living learning community w/ about 22 girls) and learning about East Asian social issues/pop culture, being part of the Rutgers Student Volunteer Council (SVC), volunteering with Teach For America in Baltimore, interning at a non-profit called Move For Hunger, interning with my awesome SVC advisor within Rutgers Office of Student Involvement & Comm. Service Initiatives, eating/baking gluten free, and my brother attending college as first year. There’s so much more little memories which have been priceless, but the challenges from these highlights have made me find my purpose and passion. I’m so grateful for all these opportunities and have learned to really enjoy the moment. Also, I’m thankful for all the men and women I’ve been met through these experiences, for each and every person has impacted me in both small & BIG ways. From Thailand to my home state, NJ, I will say each individual I met is so multi-dimensional with their own goals, dreams and challenges. I admire those who have challenged themselves and spoken to me about their small/big dreams. To my close friends and family for supporting me throughout my endeavors, your love, support and positive communication fuel my determination.

Life is really too short to worry about other people’s judgments, unrealistic expectations, and negativity. Overall, community service, taking initiative, baking healthier, and listening other people’s experiences inspire me.  As 2013 comes to a conclusion, I know what makes me happy and drives who I am today.

Here’s one phrase that’ll carry into 2014: “Never give up!”  I’m currently reading The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Powerful Lessons in Personal Change by Stephen Covey. The 1st habit which is proactivity will actually be my main goal of self development this year. Because I’m in control of my own happiness and others shouldn’t dictate how I feel/think. This is a habit/development I want to exhibit in whatever activity I face. I want to overcome any endeavors I face in 2014 no matter what!

So let’s cheer on for a new year and celebrate with some Gluten Free Cocoa Cookies made with coconut oil & gluten free flour! Happy New Year!
This time I substituted butter w/ coconut oil and used different gluten free flour recipe:
1 1/4 cup sorghum flour
1 cup white rice flour
1 cup potato starch
2 tsp xanthum gum
1 tsp baking soda and baking powder

cocoa cookies 3

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, solid form or unsalted butter
  • 1 cup gluten free flour or see above for mine
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • Optional: 1/4 cup Chocolate chips and melted chocolate for drizzle

Directions
1. Preheat oven 350 degree Fahrenheit. Put gluten free flour ingredients in a small mixing bowl and stir together with a spoon.
2. In a large mixing bowl, combine coconut oil in solid form and brown sugar. Mix together until smooth/creamy for 3-5 minutes.
3. Add egg and vanilla extract to mixture. Mix well.
4. Add dry ingredients-gluten free flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon to mixture. Mix well until cookie dough forms.
Stir in chocolate chips with rubber spatula.
5. Chill cookie dough in fridge for 30 minutes so cookie dough isn’t too sticky. Then, form 1″ cookie balls onto greased cookie sheet. Flatten cookie balls with palm. Bake for 10-11 minutes.
6. Let cookies cool on wire rack or plate. Melt any chocolate bar or candy melts in microwave for 30 second increments. Dip fork (works best for drizzle) into melted chocolate and drizzle onto cookies.

cocoa cookie 3

Comments

